There are three levels of participation, organizational participants, sponsoring participants and individual participants. There are currently 29 organizational participants, 2 sponsoring participants, and 55 individual participants.

For further information, see below and the workplan.

To receive announcements you need join one or more of these email announcement lists:

General Project Announcements,
also used to announce meetings in the work groups.
Archive Register
Work Package 1.1 Archive Register
Work Package 1.2 Archive Register
Task 2 Archive Register
Task 3 Archive Register

You don’t need to be an organizational, individual or sponsoring participant to join this email list. Please click the link to register. Note that the default setting from google groups is to not receive messages; you need to change this setting during the registration in order to received messages.

Organizational Participants

Organizational participants are organizations such as companies, research institutes or universities that commit to

  • contribute a minimum of 6 months of a full time employees per project year to the overall project using their own funding,
  • contribute to around 5 to 10 web-based coordination meetings annually, and
  • attend a semi-annual expert meeting, generally for two days using own funding.

These meetings are used to coordinate current work and to steer future development. As far as possible, these coordination meetings will be collocated with an international or a national IBPSA conference.

The operating agents can reassess the organizational membership annually and terminate organizational memberships after such annual period, if the contributions of an organization does not meet the above requirements.

Institute Country Contact
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory USA Michael Wetter
Co-operating agent
RWTH Aachen University - E3D Germany Christoph van Treeck
Co-operating agent
RWTH Aachen University - E.ON Energy Research Center, Inst. for Energy Efficient Buildings and Indoor Climate Germany Marcus Fuchs
Aalborg University Denmark Alessandro Maccarini
University of Colorado Boulder USA Wangda Zuo
The University of Alabama USA Zheng O'Neill
KU Leuven, Department of Mechanical Engineering / EnergyVille Thermal Systems Belgium Lieve Helsen
KU Leuven, Department of Civil Engineering / EnergyVille Building Physics Belgium Dirk Saelens
University of Victoria Canada Ralph Evins
EDF France Mathieu Schumann
University College Dublin Ireland James O'Donnell
Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems Germany Nicolas Réhault
National University of Ireland, Galway Ireland Marcus Keane
University College London (UCL)/Technical University of Crete (TUC) England and Greece Dimitrios Rovas
Center for Energy Informatics, University of Southern Denmark Denmark Christian Veje
Modelon Sweden Hubertus Tummescheit
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) Zurich Switzerland Kristina Orehounig
Urban Energy Systems Laboratory, Empa Switzerland L. Andrew Bollinger
Berlin University of the Arts (UdK Berlin) Germany Christoph Nytsch-Geusen
École Polytechnique de Montréal Canada Massimo Cimmino
TU Graz Austria Gerald Schweiger
Tsinghua University China Jiarui Lin
CEPT University India Yashkumar Shukla
SINTEF Norway Igor Sartori
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory USA Draguna Vrabie
Institut Wohnen und Umwelt (IWU) Germany Michael Hörner
BuildZero.Org USA Allen Gilliland III
KIT Germany Karl-Heinz Häfele
Ghent University Belgium Elisa Van Kenhove

Sponsoring Participant

Sponsoring participants are individuals or organizations that fund the project with cash contributions at US-$ 5,000 per year, which we intent to use to offset various costs that otherwise would need to be paid by the participants.

This membership will be valid for one year, and can be renewed for multiple periods.

Company Country Contact
Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories (2017 to 2019) USA Christopher Laughman
ENGIE Lab (ongoing since 2017) France Valentin Gavan

Individual Participants

Individual participants are contributors that participate in the project as is custom in other open-source projects without a pre-determined level of commitment.

The operating agents can reassess the individual participant membership annually and terminate membership if no substantial contributions are made.

Name Affiliation Country
Ruben Baetens 3E Belgium
Susana Lopez IK4-TEKNIKER Spain
Sergio Pinheiro University College Dublin Ireland
Kaustubh Phalak Ingersoll Rand USA
Lisa Rivalin ENGIE Axima France
Hu Du Cardiff University UK
Piotr Bartkiewicz Warsaw University of Technology Poland
Ricardo Enríquez CIEMAT Spain
Fabian Ochs University of Innsbruck Austria
Valentin Gavan ENGIE Lab France
Fang Liu Shanghai University of Electric Power China
Alessandro Dama Politecnico di Milano Italy
Louis Lopez António Fernando Rainha Lopes & Ana Paula Franco Assis Vieira Lopes Spain
Etienne Wurtz CEA France
Allelign Zeru HydroXpert SAS France
Chen Wenzhen Trane (Asia) China
Mahmoud AbdelRahman Kafrelsheikh University Egypt
Carl Lawson DC Herrmann & Association USA
Damien Picard KU Leuven Belgium
Javier Arroyo KU Leuven Belgium
Jesus Febres R2M Spain
Konstantin Filonenko University of Southern Denmark Denmark
Vlado Bazjanac Stanford University USA
Joachim Benner Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) Germany
Christian Waluga LiNear GmbH Germany
Nilton Janicas Oliveira Portugal
Sergio Lucia TU Berlin Germany
Enora Garreau CSTB France
Ján Drgoňa KU Leuven Belgium
Yauheni Kachalouski Czech Technical University in Prague Czech Republic
Rémi Paturea ENGIE Lab France
Wei Tian Schneider Electric USA
Julian Bischof Institut Wohnen und Umwelt (IWU) Germany
Carlos Andrade 3E Belgium
Johan Simonsson Lulea University of Technology Sweden
Ettore Zanetti Politecnico di Milano Italy
Jessica Stershic University of Colorado Boulder, SBS Lab USA
Laura Zabala R2M Solution Spain SL Spain
Piljae Im Oakridge National Laboratory USA
Qi Li Argonne National Laboratory USA
Yan Xing Nottingham Trent University UK
Moritz Lauster Viessmann Group Germany
Maria del Mar Martinez Cerro University of Castilla La Mancha Spain
Clemens Felsmann Technische Universität Dresden Germany
Jing Wang University of Colorado Boulder USA
Juan Gomez-Romero Universidad de Granada Spain
Miguel Molina-Solana Universidad de Granada Spain
Kathryn Hinkelman University of Colorado Boulder USA
Mohamed Elagiry Politecnico Di Milano - R2M Solution Italy
Alexandru Nichersu Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) Germany
Divyanshu Sood University College Dublin Ireland
Beril Alpagut Demir Enerji Turkey
Andreas Nicolai TU Dresden Germany
Laura Maier RWTH Aachen Germany
Arun Bhandari Amity University, Delhi NCR India